When is the Grand National, where can I watch and who is running?

After a year away, the Grand National is returning to Aintree

One of the many sporting events to suffer last year during the pandemic is back in 2021, with the Grand National at Aintree fast approaching.

Back in 2019, the winner was Tiger Roll, ridden by Davy Russell, with the horse winning back-to-back Nationals – the first time for that particular achievement since Red Rum in 1974. However, Tiger Roll will not be aiming for three-in-a-row this year as he was rated one pound off the top weight. The final 40 horses are yet to be confirmed. The runner-up two years ago, Magic Of Light, is hoping to become the first mare to win the world’s most famous steeplechase event since 1951.

At least three female jockeys will be riding in the National, including Rachael Blackmore and Bryony Frost, while Tom Scudamore is hoping to ride the favourite Cloth Cap to victory and emulate his grandfather, who won the National in 1959 on Oxo.

There are some reports suggesting that the race could yet be put back a week, after the government announced a new plan to move out of lockdown which includes high street shops – including bookies – reopening from Monday 12 April. That would allow casual punters to place a bet in-shop and bring some much-needed respite from those high street operators who have seen a dramatic fall in intake over the past year. However, no such confirmation of any change has emerged, so it’s currently full steam ahead for the final few days of build-up.

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of the National.


  • Brave Carl Frampton bows out with brilliant legacy after cruel defeat by Jamel Herring
  • Danger man Diogo Jota is the key to Liverpool’s top-four hopes
  • England Euro 2020 squad: Who’s on the bus, who’s in contention, who could miss out?

When is the Grand National 2021?

Aintree’s Grand National meeting runs from Thursday, 8 April through to Saturday, 10 April. The main event, the National, is presently set for Saturday, with runners going to post for 5:15pm.

Independent Rugby Newsletter

Live Rugby union coverage direct to your inbox every week

Read our privacy notice

Independent Rugby Newsletter

Live Rugby union coverage direct to your inbox every week

Read our privacy notice

Where can I watch it?

Live coverage will be televised on ITV 1. Streaming will also be available via the ITV Hub.

Who is running?

Current entries, allotted weights, owners and trainers

*Correct as of 6 April. Final field of 40 to be confirmed.

Bristol de Mai (FR) 10 11 10 Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede Nigel Twiston-Davies

The Storyteller (IRE) 10 11 8 Mrs Pat Sloan Mrs Denise Foster

Chris’s Dream (IRE) 9 11 7 Robcour Henry de Bromhead

Yala Enki (FR) 11 11 3 Hills of Ledbury Ltd Paul Nicholls

Ballyoptic (IRE) 11 11 1 Mills & Mason Partnership Nigel Twiston-Davies

Definitly Red (IRE) 12 11 1 Phil & Julie Martin Brian Ellison

Lake View Lad (IRE) 11 11 0 Mr Trevor Hemmings N. W. Alexander

Burrows Saint (FR) 8 10 13 Mrs S. Ricci W. P. Mullins

Magic of Light (IRE) 10 10 13 Ann & Alan Potts Limited Mrs J. Harrington

Acapella Bourgeois (FR) 11 10 12 Slaneyville Syndicate W. P. Mullins

Anibale Fly (FR) 11 10 12 Mr John P. McManus A. J. Martin

Mister Malarky (GB) 8 10 12 Wendy & Malcolm Hezel Colin Tizzard

Talkischeap (IRE) 9 10 12 Charles Dingwall Alan King

Tout Est Permis (FR) 8 10 12 Gigginstown House Stud Noel Meade

Kimberlite Candy (IRE) 9 10 10 Mr John P. McManus Tom Lacey

Any Second Now (IRE) 9 10 9 Mr John P. McManus T. M. Walsh

Balko des Flos (FR) 10 10 9 Gigginstown House Stud Henry de Bromhead

Alpha des Obeaux (FR) 11 10 9 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster

Ok Corral (IRE) 11 10 8 Mr John P. McManus Nicky Henderson

Takingrisks (IRE) 12 10 7 Mr Frank Bird Nicky Richards

Shattered Love (IRE) 10 10 7 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster

Jett (IRE) 10 10 7 Mr Robert Waley-Cohen Mrs J. Harrington

Lord du Mesnil (FR) 8 10 6 Mr Paul Porter & Mike & Mandy Smith Richard Hobson

Potters Corner (IRE) 11 10 6 All Stars Sports Racing & J Davies Christian Williams

Class Conti (FR) 9 10 6 Mr Simon Munir/Mr Isaac Souede W. P. Mullins

Milan Native (IRE) 8 10 6 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster

Discorama (FR) 8 10 6 Thomas Friel/Andrew Gemmell Paul Nolan

Vieux Lion Rouge (FR) 12 10 5 Prof Caroline Tisdall & Mr John Gent David Pipe

Cloth Cap (IRE) 9 10 5 Mr Trevor Hemmings Jonjo O’Neill

Cabaret Queen (GB) 9 10 5 Syndicates.Racing W. P. Mullins

Minellacelebration (IRE) 11 10 5 Mr Nick Elliott Katy Price

Canelo (IRE) 8 10 4 Mr John P. McManus Alan King

The Long Mile (GB) 7 10 4 Mr John P. McManus J.P.Dempsey

Give Me A Copper (IRE) 11 10 4 Done, Ferguson, Mason, Nicholls & Wood Paul Nicholls

Farclas (FR) 7 10 3 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster

Minella Times (IRE) 8 10 3 Mr John P. McManus Henry de Bromhead

Sub Lieutenant (IRE) 12 10 3 Ms G. Howell Georgie Howell

Hogan’s Height (IRE) 10 10 3 Foxtrot Racing: Hogan’s Height Jamie Snowden

Double Shuffle (IRE) 11 10 2 Crossed Fingers Partnership Tom George

Ami Desbois (FR) 11 10 2 The Reserved Judgment Partnership Graeme McPherson

Blaklion (GB) 12 10 2 Darren & Annaley Yates Dan Skelton

Some Neck (FR) 10 10 1 Some Neck Partnership John McConnell

Secret Reprieve (IRE) 7 10 1 Mr & Mrs William Rucker Evan Williams

Kauto Riko (FR) 10 9 13 Mr and Mrs J.Dale and Partners Tom Gretton

Fagan (GB) 11 9 13 Mr Ben Brackenbury Alex Hales

Deise Aba (IRE) 8 9 13 Mr Trevor Hemmings Philip Hobbs

Valtor (FR) 12 9 13 Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede Nicky Henderson

Golan Fortune (IRE) 9 9 13 P Middleton, M Lowther Phil Middleton

Run Wild Fred (IRE) 7 9 11 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster

The Hollow Ginge (IRE) 8 9 11 The Ginge Army Nigel Twiston-Davies

Captain Drake (IRE) 8 9 11 Gary Stevens and Brian and Sandy Lambert Harry Fry

Another Venture (IRE) 10 9 11 Racing For Maggie’s Partnership Kim Bailey

Crievehill (IRE) 9 9 11 Highclere T’Bred Racing- Crievehill Nigel Twiston-Davies

Flying Angel (IRE) 10 9 10 Mr R. J. Rexton Nigel Twiston-Davies

Prime Venture (IRE) 10 9 10 Mrs Janet Davies Evan Williams

Le Breuil (FR) 9 9 10 Mrs Emma Palmer Ben Pauling

Hold The Note (IRE) 7 9 9 Mr T. P. Radford Mick Channon

Plan of Attack (IRE) 8 9 9 Mr A. Halsall Henry de Bromhead

Roaring Bull (IRE) 8 9 9 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster

Dounikos (FR) 10 9 9 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster

Musical Slave (IRE) 8 9 8 Mr John P. McManus Philip Hobbs

Soupy Soups (IRE) 10 9 8 Equi ex Incertis Partners Neil Mulholland

Beau Bay (FR) 10 9 7 Mr Peter Green & Dr RDP Newland Dr Richard Newland

Shantou Flyer (IRE) 11 9 7 David Maxwell Racing Limited Paul Nicholls

Hear No Evil (IRE) 9 9 7 Mr Patrick Joseph McCartan Noel C. Kelly

Monbeg Notorious (IRE) 10 9 6 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster

Aforementioned (FR) 8 9 5 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster

Fingerontheswitch (IRE) 11 9 3 Cahill, Atwell & Crofts Neil Mulholland


Cloth Cap 4/1

Burrows Saint 8/1

Kimberlite Candy 10/1

Any Second Now 10/1

Minella Times 12/1

Secret Reprieve 12/1

Discorama 16/1

Magic Of Light 20/1

Potters Corner 20/1

The Storyteller 20/1

Bristol De Mai 25/1

Anibale Fly 25/1

Milan Native 25/1

Lord Du Mesnil 25/1

Acapella Bourgeois 25/1

Mister Malarky 33/1

Balko Des Flos 33/1

Farclas 33/1

Double Shuffle 33/1

Class Conti 33/1

Canelo 33/1

Lake View Lad 33/1

Yala Enki 33/1

All remaining runners at 40/1 or greater

Source: Read Full Article