Premier League and Big Six reach settlement over Super League split

It took two days for Premier League clubs to begin pulling out of the European Super League, leading to its rapid collapse. Now, the six former members of the startup reached a settlement with the Premier League for their subversion. 

Chelsea, Manchester United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Tottenham and Arsenal agreed to pay $31 million as "a gesture of goodwill."

To curb future situations, the clubs also agreed to accept a £25 million fine and 30-point deductions if they attempted another breakaway. 

A Premier League trophy logo is seen on a matchball (Photo: CATHERINE IVILL, POOL/AFP via Getty Images)

The fines paid by the "Big Six" will go toward "the good of the game," which includes investments in support for fans, grassroots football and community programs.

"They have wholeheartedly apologized to their fans, fellow clubs, the Premier League and The FA," the statement read. "The Premier League and The FA have worked closely together throughout this process and this agreement brings both investigations into the matter to a conclusion."

Arsenal and Tottenham, were the two "Big Six" clubs that failed to qualify for a European Tournament next season. 

The Super Team was announced in April, with 12 founding teams. But nine — AC Milan, Inter Milan Atletico Madrid and the six Premier League clubs — have since backed out. 

The nine clubs that pulled out were given financial punishments UEFA and agreed to contribute a combined $18 million to benefit youth and grassroots football across Europe.

Source: Read Full Article